Family is Sustainability

“We believe that family companies deserve a Prize for their resilience, passion and engagement” Matthieu Perrin, the president

The Prize

The Primum Familiae Vini, an association of twelve European families who are producers in the continent’s greatest wine regions, have announced the launch of The PFV Prize, an annual award of €100,000 to a family company in any area of enterprise that can present a new initiative or development project that demonstrates excellence in sustainability, innovation, craftsmanship and the successful transmission of responsibility and commitment from one generation to the next.

The PFV Prize consists of two parts

  • 1) A Financial grant of €100,000.
  • 2) Contact with various members of the PFV so that they can share their multi-generational experience and know-how in guiding their family companies through the generations

The process


June 22nd, 2021
application period
October 30th, 2021
January, 2022
the winner

the winner of the PFV Prize will be invited by the families in the following months during an award ceremony

Kindly see the rules for nomination before downloading the application form

The candidate must :

  • Be legally incorporated as a business.
  • Be entirely owned by one family.
  • Have (or had) the involvement in the day to day management of the business of at least two generations of the same family.
  • Be able to demonstrate manifest intent to continue the family business, combined with evidence of the transmission of know-how and experience to younger family members.
  • Present a development project (new or underway) that demonstrates sustainability, innovation and original thinking, proving that family business can be a powerful tool to respond to the social and environmental challenges of our time.
  • Have a reputation for excellence in their chosen field.
  • Have a proven record of ethical behaviour with care for their local community and for the environment.
  • Give evidence of sound financial history and performance enough to support continuity and future development.
  • Be able to prove that the production process of their family company is not harmful to the environment or to the community.
  • The decisions of the PFV Jury are final and there can be no appeal.
  • Applications are open to family companies without regard to race, colour, religion, gender, gender identity or expression, sexual orientation, national origin, disability or age and the PFV Jury will judge with complete impartiality, holding all these values as self-evident.
The finalists will be selected in January 2022
The winner will be selected in March 2022

The Jury

The twelve members of the PFV represent the distinctive voice and deep artisan roots of family companies who are committed to the absolute quality of their wines and all have a long history of dedication to their respective regions. The PFV aim to encourage other family companies to continue their independent development and to prove that a family business can be a powerful tool to respond to the social and environmental challenges of our time.

The Selection Jury for The PFV Short List and The PFV Prize will be one member of each of the twelve PFV wine families:

  • Matthieu Perrin - Famille Perrin, France - Founded 1909
  • Egon Müller - Egon Müller Scharzhof, Germany - Founded 1797
  • Alessia Antinori - Marchesi Antinori, Italy - Founded 1385
  • Prince Robert of Luxembourg - Domaine Clarence Dillon, France - Founded 1935
  • Priscilla Incisa Della Rochetta - Tenuta San Guido, Italy - Founded 1840
  • Fédéric Drouhin - Maison Joseph Drouhin, France - Founded 1880
  • Jean-Frédéric Hugel - Famille Hugel, France - Founded 1639
  • Miguel Torres Maczassek - Familia Torres, Spain - Founded 1870
  • Paul Symington - Symington Family Estates, Portugal - Founded 1882
  • Pablo Alvarez - Vega Sicilia, Spain - Founded 1864
  • Philippe Sereys de Rothschild - Baron Philippe de Rothschild, France - Founded 1853
  • Hubert de Billy - Champagne Pol Roger, France - Founded 1849
  • The PFV Selection Jury will be supported by Christophe Brunet, General Secretary of the PFV.
Matthieu Perrin
Egon Müller
Alessia Antinori
Robert of Luxembourg
Priscilla Incisa Della Rochetta
Fédéric Drouhin
Jean-Frédéric Hugel
Miguel Torres
Paul Symington
Pablo Alvarez
Philippe Sereys de Rothschild
Hubert de Billy

About the PFV

To know more about the Primum Familiae Vini, visit our website

creation vinium
This site uses cookies. By closing this message or clicking any of its elements you consent to the use of cookies for the purposes indicated.
Read more. I accept.